One Rupee less 420

Altogether, I was not a bad student in my schools days.  But there was so called syndicate of Top 5 students in my class.  I was not included in that club.  Although I usually scored highest in many of my subjects, but Maths was my weakest and I hated algebra.  Therefore, in an aggregate I was out from the Top 5.  The best I did was in my Grade V, when I stood 3rd chiseling the syndicate of my top colleagues.  That year, I was first in all my subjects but Maths, I still just made it.

I was best in the classes which were considered as the odd subjects: Social Studies, History, Geography…  And yes, English was my ‘syndicate subject’ despite the fact that I was not my English teacher’s favorites.  I was not his chosen one because I used to ask many questions and sometimes even dared to argue.  Hence, my teacher liked his ‘obedient’ student who was second best to me in this subject.  My best friends in my school were playful and sporty guys but not the academically good ones.  The only time teachers would appreciate us were the times when we brought medals from outside.  But my gang had more fun and no doubt more popular with other students than the Top 5s.  I have many happy memories with my group, which I ‘co-led’ with a girl.  No, not a girlfriend, let me be clear.  We were quite professional even in those days.

I recall, on one incident our entire class went river fishing in the break time and were caught up by the teacher.  Punishment was spared for the girls and Top 5s but we were doubly punished because my English teacher concluded that my group spoiled the entire class.  Our fishes were seized.  When some of us protested, we were sent off from the remaining classes.  We never knew what our teacher did with our fishes.  The conclusion of our group was that “we are just the victim of bad politics in our schools”.

Yes politics, I wanted to become a politician and enter either Law or Social Studies (Arts) college.  But no one agreed with me, even my family!  Many of my well-wishers wanted me to become a doctor or an engineer.  I had to compromise, I joined a college of Management.  In the final semesters, I spend more time in table tennis hall than in my classes.  As a result, I failed in my best subject – English!

My dad concluded that I am in a bad acquaintance and decided for me that I should do a job.  Being failed meant I had to wait for entire year so I had plenty of time to spare.  So he found a newly opened ‘expatriate managed school’ and secured an interview for me with a British Lady who happened to be the Board Chair.  I did well in my first interview, and was offered a job – as a Maths Teacher!  I requested her if I can have English classes, but she told me that they have just selected a new English teacher.  With no choice, I took up my first job in my weakest subject.  As a part-time Mathematics teacher.  This news became a big joke in my friends circle.

The first few months in my new job, I did lots of Maths practicing in my home before going to my classes.  This school was supported by a charitable organization called Tear Fund (UK, and Holland) and provided vocational training for school dropouts. Most of the students were around my age.  Then, I was just 20.  On the first salary day, I was called by my Dutch Principal and acknowledged me that I was doing very well with my Math classes.  He said that I was the most liked teacher amongst the students.  “You are like their peer”, he told me.  Then he asked me to sign my salary sheet and handed over the envelope.  Nervously, I scanned the figure before signing, which started with 2 with many zeros (000..).  I quickly went to the toilet and to open the envelope.  It was Rs. 200.00!  As the treat of my first salary day evening, my friends made me spent Rs. 250 in a restaurant.  This way, my first job’s first salary ended as a deficit business.

For several months, I was stuck in the same salary range.  Then the time came when the school management offered to double my salary and classes which amounted Rs. 420!  In our country, number 420 was not so auspicious (thief’s cell) hence I explained my boss to increase or decrease the amount.  My boss didn’t like my reasoning hence he agreed to reduce my salary by 1 Rupee.  So for few more years, I had a salary one rupee less than 420.

After few years, the school management decided to expel our Administrator and asked me and the English Teacher to cover this role for a transitional period.  The offer was conditional.  I will remain in the same salary, one rupee less than 420!  While I took this offer as an opportunity to learn new roles, my counterpart took it as an extra burden.  After few weeks, the board meeting decided to offer me the role of Administrator.  The real breakthrough in my career.  In every steps, my Dutch Principal took a risk with me and groomed me as if I were his son.  Later, when my Principal decided to leave, I was asked to I manage the entire school as an Acting Principal.  Then I was just 23, and the year was 1986.

So, this is the story of my first job.  Rising from the weakest subject to Acting Principal of the school.  Today, I feel proud to share this story.  In those days, I was driven by the quotation written by one of my friends in my autograph: ‘Failures are the Pillars of the Success’.  Yes, failures are altogether not a bad thing.  We all fail sometimes, somewhere in our lives but failures do bring new options in our lives.  Sometimes even better options.  No regrets that I failed in my best subject.  After all, 420 is not a bad number.

Postscript

Few years back I managed to visit my Dutch Principal’s home in rural Netherlands.  We gossiped so much, which went over midnight.  Next day, in our breakfast my Principal’s wife teased us that we talked as the long separated couples.  Even now, we never miss to exchange our greetings in our birthdays, and New Year’s.

The British Lady who took my first interview still lives in Nepal.  She is in late eighties and I visit her in special occasions although she can’t remember me because of Alzheimer’s disease.

It is my way to pay my respects to these elders, who helped in my early careers.

31 December 2017

Published by

ravindrawrites

I love to write, sometimes. When I write, I like to share how I feel, how I see this world. Writing makes me happy.

Leave a comment