The Waves

Born and raised in a land-locked country, the first time I experienced waves was when I touched the sea in a foreign land at the age of 30. It was an extraordinary moment. Since then, I have seen many waves, and every time it has fascinated me, until 2020. COVID waves.


We all have COVID stories, and if we survive old, there will be few stories to tell our grandchildren. Just like my granny, who never gets tired of telling her 1934 earthquake story. She had just entered her teens when this 8.3 earthquake occurred. Her dad was a civil servant who was posted near the epicenter in the lowlands of Nepal/Bihar. Granny was living with her family and saw the waves, the earthquake waves. Liquefactions is the technical word. She tells how the earth spread and underground water appeared on the surface. Granny survived not just one but two major earthquakes and is still sharing these extraordinary stories during the pandemic. She turned 100 years old last year but refused to celebrate her centurion birthday because of the pandemic.

Granny was happy when she received her 1st vaccine dose and now waiting for the 2nd one. Every day she wakes up early, offers her prayers, sings few devotional songs, offers grain to her birds. During the day, granny never forgets to sleep. Often, she tries to please me by telling me how many times she has walked around our garden. She is resilient. She must survive the 2nd wave.


When COVID is hitting us with waves after waves, I wonder how we will protect ourselves. No one is protected unless everyone is protected. Vaccine scepticisms would not help here. The difference between 2020 and 2021 is that we did not have any medication against COVID, but now there are many vaccines to protect us. “Of course, there are new variants, but if we play safe with masks, sanitization, social distancing, and vaccines will save us.” This is what my granny tells me to tell my friends. “Otherwise, you will be swiped by the waves just like your relative uncle, who died in the first wave simply because he ignored all the rules,” Granny adds.

The tide is full, its full moon night,
Imminent waves, you hold me tight,
Across the ocean, were the gleaming lights,
Together we might reach if you hold me tight.

Wish you all safe. Stay shielded, stay hopeful, always………..
Ravindra Shakya, 20 April 2021

Published by

ravindrawrites

I love to write, sometimes. When I write, I like to share how I feel, how I see this world. Writing makes me happy.

Leave a comment